In-depth reference materialsLooking for concise informationOpera and Musical
DisciplinaryJournal articles in ChineseInterdisciplinary
Listening and Viewing OnlineCDs / DVDs
Introduction to Arts Administration
Film Music
Music and the Mind
World Music
Beethoven facsimiles
Brahms facsimiles
Novels & biographical novels about Music & Musicians
Topics in Western Music History I
Fundamentals of Tonal Music
Jazz: History and Appreciation
Popular Music
The Opera
Rare Scores
Schubert facsimiles
Mozart facsimiles
Topics in Western Music History III
e-books
e-journalse-journals with BrowZine
GuQin
GuQin BooksGuQin ScoresAudiovisual materials
This is the "Fundamentals of Tonal Music" page of the "MUSIC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MUSIC   Tags: music  

Last Updated: Sep 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Fundamentals of Tonal Music Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected Reference

   Kostka, Stefan M., and Dorothy Payne.

   Tonal Harmony: With an Introduction to Twentieth-century Music.

   New York: McGraw-Hill, 2009.

   Call number: Music 781.25 K86 t6

   

   

 

   Aldwell, Edward, and Carl Schachter. 

   Harmony & Voice Leading.

   Australia: Thomson/Schirmer. 4thed., 2011.

   Call number: Music 781.25 A36 h2

   

   

 

   Cadwallader, Allen, and David Gagné.

   Analysis of Tonal Music: A Schenkerian Approach.

   New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.

   Call number: Music 781 C12 a5

   

   

 

   Caplin, William Earl.

   Analyzing Classical Form: An Approach for the Classroom.

   New York: Oxford University Press, 2013.

   Call number: Music 784.18 C244 a5

   

   

 

   Gauldin, Robert.

   Harmonic Practice in Tonal Music.

   New York: W.W. Norton, 2004.

   Call number: Music 781.25 G26 h2

   

   

 

   Turek, Ralph.

   Theory for Today's Musician.

   Boston: McGraw-Hill, 2007.

   Call number: Music 781 T93 t3

   

   

 

   Santa, Matthew.

   Hearing Form: Musical Analysis With and Without the Score.

   New York: Routledge, 2010.

   Call number: Music 781.8 S23

   

   

   

   Rameau, Jean Philippe.

   Treatise on Harmony.

   New York: Dover, 1971.

   Call number: Music 781.3 R17  

   

   

 

Online databases

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Online

Strengths

Content coverage

How to get full text

articles and citations?

 

  • Features citations, abstracts, scholarly articles, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and reviews.
  • Languages include English, European and others

 

  • You can also search a specific journal. Type a journal title in the box of Publication. All results related to the journal will be displayed in result pages.

 

 

 

 

 

Click on the following icons on result pages for full-text articles.     

 

Below icon leads you to choose your desired citation styles, e.g. Chicago or APA.      

Year coverage: 1967-present  

 allows you to track down full-text articles at HKU Libraries

   

Music Index Online

Strengths

Content coverage

How to get full-text

articles and citations?

 

  • Contains full-text articles, book reviews, obituaries and magazines
  • Good for non-scholarly articles 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Click on the following icons on result pages for full-text articles.    

 

 

Below icon leads you to choose your desired citation styles, e.g. Chicago or APA.      

Year coverage: 1970-present

 allows you to track down full-text articles at HKU Libraries

   

 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians

Online access Print@ Music Library, Library Use Only
Grove Music Online comprises New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001), New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992) and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002), which provide scholarly articles and biographies. These are considered the most authoritative reference materials for its full-text scholarly writings and bibliographies.
 New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001)
 
 29 volumes
 
 Call number: MuR 780.3 G88
 
 Location: at the back of the Reserve Collection
 

Journals

   Music Analysis

    “is published by the Society for Music Analysis (SMA).”

    ~ Print v.1 (1982)-v.26 (2007)

    ~ Online via JSTOR v.1 (1982) up to 10 years back from latest issue published-

                     via Academic Search Premier v.22, no.1/2 (2003)-delay 12 months

                     via Wiley Online Library v.18, no.1 (Mar. 1999)-

   

   

 

   Music Theory Spectrum

    “features articles on a wide range of topics in music theory and analysis, including aesthetics, critical theory and hermeneutics, history of theory,

   post-tonal theory, linear analysis, rhythm, music cognition, and the analysis of popular musics.”

    ~ Print v.1 (1979)-v.13 (1991)-v.14, no.1 (1992); v.15 (1993)-v.26 (2004)

    ~ Online via JSTOR v.1 (1979) up to 3 years back from latest issue published-

                     via ProQuest v.28, no.1 (2006)-v.34, no.2 (2012)

                     via IIMP FullText v.26, no.1 (2004)-v.34, no.2 (2012)

                                                         via Oxford Journals v.18 (1996)-

   

   Journal of Music Theory

    “publishes research with important and broad applications in the analysis of music and the history of music theory as well as theoretical or

   metatheoretical work that engages and stimulates ongoing discourse in the field.”

    ~ Print v.27 (1983)-v.33 (1989)-v.34, no.1 (1990); v.35 (1991); v.36, no.2 (1992); v.37 (1993)-v.47 (2003); v.49 (2005)-v.51, no.1 (2007); v.52 (2008)

    ~ Online via JSTOR v.1 (1957) up to 5 years back from latest issue published-

                     via the web v.43 (1999)-

   

    

 

   Music Theory Online

    “includes articles, reviews, commentaries, and analytical essays.”

    ~ Online via Academic Search Premier v.18, no.1 (2012)-

                     via the Open access journal

   

   

 

 

Online resources

- Includes exercises, glossary, tips for presenting Schenkerian graphs on Sibelius   

 

- Mainly includes Schenker’s correspondence with English translations, and his collections’ highlight in four different libraries/archives 

 

 

Listening Online

Music Online features audio and video collections of classical music, jazz, opera and world music captured on video through live performances.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip