In-depth reference materialsLooking for concise informationOpera and Musical
DisciplinaryJournal articles in ChineseInterdisciplinary
Listening and Viewing OnlineCDs / DVDs
Introduction to Arts Administration
Film Music
Music and the Mind
World Music
Beethoven facsimiles
Brahms facsimiles
Novels & biographical novels about Music & Musicians
Topics in Western Music History I
Fundamentals of Tonal Music
Jazz: History and Appreciation
Popular Music
The Opera
Rare Scores
Schubert facsimiles
Mozart facsimiles
Bartók, Béla 1888-1945Debussy, Claude 1862-1918Falla, Manuel de 1876-1946Mahler, Gustav 1860-1911Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus 1756-1791Porter, Cole 1891-1964Puccini, Giacomo 1858-1924Schoenberg, Arnold 1874-1951Shostakovich, Dmitri 1906-1975Sondheim, Stephen 1930-Strauss, Richard 1864-1949Weill, Kurt 1900-1950
Topics in Western Music History III
Exhibition - musical notationsMusic and TranslationMusic and CalligraphySinging in the Music Library
e-journalse-journals with BrowZine
GuqinGuqin BooksGuqin ScoresAudiovisual materials
This is the "Brahms facsimiles" page of the "MUSIC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MUSIC   Tags: music  

Last Updated: Nov 16, 2017 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Brahms facsimiles Print Page

Brahms facsimiles

Titles of Brahms facsimile editions collected by Music Library are few but the contents are rich. Some enlightening passages from the titles highlighted below offer a few glimpses of Brahms’ characters.

  Johannes Brahms autographs: facsimiles of eight manuscripts in the Library of Congress.

   New York: Garland Pub, 1983.

   Call Number: MuR 785.71 B81 score        

   Introduction by James Webster

   Eight Brahms autographs include Sextet in B-flat major for two violins, two violas, and two violoncellos, Op. 18;  
   Quintet in F Minor for two violins, viola, violoncello, and Piano, Op.34; Waltzes, Op.39; Waltzes (simplified), 
   Op.39; Trio in E-flat major for violin, horn, and piano, Op.40; Trio in C major for violin, violoncello, and piano, 
   Op.87; Intermezzo in A minor for piano, Op.118, No. 1; Intermezzo in B minor for piano, Op. 119, No. 1.
  “Brahms’s autographs are interesting not merely for their testimony to his continuing compositional activity in the ‘fair-copy’ stage and the concomitant insight into his processes of musical thinking and revision, but also for their authority regarding his intentions for performance.” ~ James Webster

   Symphony no. 1 in C minor, op. 68: the autograph score.

   New York: Pierpont Morgan Library in association with Dover Publications, 1986.

   Call Number: MuR 784.2184 B81 s9 no1 M2-4 score  

   Introduction by Margit L. McCorkle

   “The holograph of Brahm’s First Symphony presented here documents the final stages in the evolution of a landmark work
   that holds a uniquely significant position in the development of the composer’s illustrious career. Not only did this revealing
   manuscript serve as the engraver’s model for the preparation of the first edition of the symphony, but its third and fourth
   movements were also used as the conductor’s score for the several crucial trial performances given prior to its publication.”
   ~ Margit L. McCorkle


   Sonate für Klavier und Violine Nr. 1 G-Dur, Opus 78: Faksimile nach dem Autograph der Wienbibliothek im Rathaus,

   Musiksammlung, Wien.

   Laaber: Laaber-Verlag, 2013.

   Call Number: MuR 787.2183 B81 s6 op.78 score

   Preface by Julia Fischer

   Introduction by Eberhard Hüppe (translation by J. Bradford Robinson)

   “Now let us turn to the writing in the autograph. Here the music was written in a dark-brown ink that may appear black when the
   nib was freshly dipped in the inkwell or when the writing proceeded slowly. This was followed by a darker ink and by blue-grey
   pencil for the purpose of corrections. … … Traces of erasure and heavy cancellations show that the process of compositional
   refinement was still underway while the music was being written out.” ~ Eberhard Hüppe
  Variationen und Fuge über ein Thema von Händel : für Klavier : B-Dur, Opus 24  : Faksimile nach dem Autograph 

   aus den Sammlungen der Musikabteilung der Library of Congress, Washington.

   Laaber: Laaber-Verlag, 2014.

   Call Number: MuR 786.21825 B81 v2  score 

   Introduction by Frédéric Döhl (translation by Andrew Clifford Larson)

   “The autograph proves to be a fascinating document, by the innumerable corrections and alterations Brahms  
   undertook in the script of the Handel Variations until its printing in the middle of 1862. It offers a rare glimpse into
   the composer’s workshop. Tempo markings, fingerings, and dynamic elements such as slurs were changed, and
   transitions were added like between the variations no. 11 and 12.” ~ Frédéric Döhl
   Violinkonzert D-Dur, Opus 77: mit einer Auswahl aus der Stichvorlage der Violinstimme : Faksimile nach dem Autograph

   aus den Sammlungen der Musikabteilung der Library of Congress, Washington.

   Laaber: Laaber-Verlag, 2014.

   Call Number: MuR 784.272186 B81 c7 op.77 score  

   Preface by Julia Fischer

   Introduction by Stefan Drees (translation by Andrew Clifford Larson)

   “In order to document the cooperation of Brahms and Joachim some characteristic passages from this undated  
   manuscript of 24 pages, purchased by the Library of Congress (Washington, D.C.) in 1963, were included in the present edition. In addition to the actual notation, significant alterations in the violin part can be found, which had been written down by an unidentified copyist in brown ink. These had been entered by Joachim in black ink and pencil. Furthermore, there are modifications by Brahms in pencil and blue crayon, as well as editorial revisions in Keller’s hand, entered in red ink, and occasionally also in pencil.” ~ Stefan Drees


   Dedel, Peter.

   Johannes Brahms: a guide to his autograph in facsimile.

   Ann Arbor, Mich: Music Library Association, 1978.

   Call Number: MuR 016.780924 B81 D2






Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians via Grove Music Online

The Oxford Dictionary of Music


Loading  Loading...