In-depth reference materialsLooking for concise informationOpera and Musical
DisciplinaryJournal articles in ChineseInterdisciplinary
Listening and Viewing OnlineCDs / DVDs
Introduction to Arts Administration
Film Music
Music and the Mind
World Music
Beethoven facsimiles
Brahms facsimiles
Novels & biographical novels about Music & Musicians
Topics in Western Music History I
Fundamentals of Tonal Music
Jazz: History and Appreciation
Popular Music
The Opera
Rare Scores
Schubert facsimiles
Mozart facsimiles
Bartók, Béla 1888-1945Debussy, Claude 1862-1918Falla, Manuel de 1876-1946Mahler, Gustav 1860-1911Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus 1756-1791Porter, Cole 1891-1964Puccini, Giacomo 1858-1924Schoenberg, Arnold 1874-1951Shostakovich, Dmitri 1906-1975Sondheim, Stephen 1930-Strauss, Richard 1864-1949Weill, Kurt 1900-1950
Topics in Western Music History III
Exhibition - musical notationsMusic and TranslationMusic and CalligraphySinging in the Music Library
e-books
e-journalse-journals with BrowZine
GuqinGuqin BooksGuqin ScoresAudiovisual materials
This is the "Introduction to Arts Administration" page of the "MUSIC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MUSIC   Tags: music  

Last Updated: Nov 16, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction to Arts Administration Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Featured Books

  Bernstein, Joanne Scheff.

  Arts Marketing Insights:The Dynamics of Building 

  and Retaining Performing Arts Audiences.

  San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2007.

  Call number: Music 791.0698 B53

  Graffman, Gary.

  I Really Should Be Practicing.

  Garden City, N.Y. : Doubleday, 1981.

  Call number: Music 786.2092 G73

  Kaiser, Michael M.

  The Art of the Turnaround: Creating and 

  Maintaining Healthy Arts Organizations.

  Lebanon: University Press of New England, 2008. 

  Call number: Music 791.069 K13 a7

  Kaiser, Michael M.

  Leading Roles: 50 Questions

  Every Arts Board Should Ask.

  Lebanon: University Press of New England, 2010. 

  Call number: Music 700.6 K13

  Kotler, Philip & Scheff, Joanne.

  Standing Room Only: Strategies for

  Marketing the Performing Arts.

  Boston: Harvard Business Review Press, 1997.

  Call number: 791.0698 K87 s

 

  Levy, Reynold.

  Yours for the Asking: An Indispensable Guide to

  Fundraising and Management.

  New York: John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2009.

  Call number: Music 658.15224 L66

  Ozawa, Seiji 1935-

  Absolutely on Music : Conversations.

  New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2016.

  Call number: Music 784.2092 O99 English version

  索書號: [音] ML60 .O93127 2014 Chinese version

  Sandberg, Sheryl.

  Lean in : Women, Work, and the will to Lead.

  New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2013.

  Call number: 658.4092082 S21

  Schumann, Robert, 1810-1856.

  Robert Schumann's Advice to Young Musicians.

  London : Faber & Faber Limited, 2016.

  Call number : Music 780.83 S39 r6

 

Online Dictionaries

Online access Print@ Music Library, Library Use Only

Grove Music Online    comprises New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001), New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992) and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002), which provide scholarly articles and biographies. These are considered the most authoritative reference materials for its full-text scholarly writings and bibliographies.

 

 New Grove Dictionary of Music &  Musicians (2001)

 29 volumes

 Call number: MuR 780.3 G88

 Location: at the back of the Reserve Collection

 

 

 New Grove Dictionary of Opera  (1992)

 4 volumes

 Call number: MuR 782.103 N53

 Location: Reference Collection 

 

 

 New Grove Dictionary of Jazz  (2002)

 Call number: MuR 781.6503 N532 k

 3 volumes

 Location: Reference Collection

 

 

Find articles

PAIS Index provides resources featuring public policy.

Business Source Complete provides the full text for more than 3,300 journals, some titles' coverage back to 1965. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, international business and economics.

Academic Search Premier provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more. It also offers full text for over 1,000 journals with many dating back to1990.

International Journal of Arts Management (1998- ) features coherent theories and models and their applications in cultural and arts practice.

International Journal of Cultural Policy (2002- ) involves an interdisciplinary & international exploration of the meaning, function & impact of cultural policies.

The Journal of Arts Management, Law and Society (1990- ) includes articles and book reviews dealing with the business and legal aspects of art, including funding, finances, and management of artistic endeavors.

Chronicle of Philanthropy (2000- ) provides news & information for fund raisers, professional employees of foundation, and corporate grant makers.

Journal of Cultural Economics (1977- ) consists of the theoretical development of cultural economics as a subject, the application of economic analysis and econometrics to the field of culture, and the economic aspects of cultural policy. In addition to full-length papers, it offers short papers and book reviews.

  

 

Find Latest News

Performing Arts Review is an online monthly magazine in Chinese and published in Taiwan. In addition to classical music, it includes modern music, world music and dance.

 

 

Find Images

ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip