In-depth reference materialsLooking for concise informationOpera and Musical
DisciplinaryJournal articles in ChineseInterdisciplinary
Listening and Viewing OnlineCDs / DVDs
Introduction to Arts Administration
Film Music
Music and the Mind
World Music
Beethoven facsimiles
Brahms facsimiles
Novels & biographical novels about Music & Musicians
Topics in Western Music History I
Fundamentals of Tonal Music
Jazz: History and Appreciation
Popular Music
The Opera
Rare Scores
Schubert facsimiles
Mozart facsimiles
Bartók, Béla 1888-1945Debussy, Claude 1862-1918Falla, Manuel de 1876-1946Mahler, Gustav 1860-1911Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus 1756-1791Porter, Cole 1891-1964Puccini, Giacomo 1858-1924Schoenberg, Arnold 1874-1951Shostakovich, Dmitri 1906-1975Sondheim, Stephen 1930-Strauss, Richard 1864-1949Weill, Kurt 1900-1950
Topics in Western Music History III
Exhibition - musical notationsMusic and TranslationMusic and CalligraphySinging in the Music Library
e-books
e-journalse-journals with BrowZine
GuqinGuqin BooksGuqin ScoresAudiovisual materials
This is the "In-depth reference materials" page of the "MUSIC" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

MUSIC   Tags: music  

Last Updated: Nov 16, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/music Print Guide RSS Updates

In-depth reference materials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off-campus access

For details, click here.

 

In-depth reference materials

Online access  Music Library, Library Use Only

 

Grove Music Online comprises New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001), New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992) and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002), which provide scholarly articles and biographies. These are considered the most authoritative reference materials for its full-text scholarly writings and bibliographies.

 

 New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001)

 29 volumes

 Call number: MuR 780.3 G88

 Location: at the back of the Reserve Collection

 

 

 New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992)

 4 volumes

 Call number: MuR 782.103 N53

 Location: Reference Collection 

 

 

 New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002)

 Call number: MuR 781.6503 N532 k

 3 volumes

 Location: Reference Collection

 

The Oxford history of Western Music is written by Richard Taruskin

Volume 1 The earliest notations to the sixteenth century

Volume 2 The seventeenth and eighteenth centuries

Volume 3 The nineteenth century

Volume 4 The early twentieth century

Volume 5 The late twentieth century

Volume 6 Resources: chronology, bibliography, master index

Call number: MuR 780.9 T19 o9

Location: at the back of Reserve Collection

 

New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments describes Western and non-Western musical instruments

of all ages in the context of instrument families. Photos are accompanied by brief illustrations.   

Call number: MuR 781.9103 N5

3 volumes 

Location: Reference Collection

 

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart (1994) is regarded as an authoritative music encyclopedia

in musicology, written in German.  

Call number: MuR 780.3 B6 

29 volumes

Location: Reference Collection

 

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music provides full-length scholarly articles of the following continents.

Volume 1 Africa 

Volume 2 South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean

Volume 3 The United States and Canada

Volume 4 Southeast Asia

Volume 5 South Asia: the Indian subcontinent

Volume 6 The Middle East

Volume 7 East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea

Volume 8 Europe

Volume 9 Australia and the Pacific Islands

Volume 10 The world's music: general perspectives and reference tools

Call number: MuR 780.9 G23 N4

Location: Reference Collection

For the accompanying CDs of musical examples, search at Find@HKUL.

 

Encyclopedia of Popular Music features topics of jazz, rap and techno. Entries of biographies and

groups include record labels, release dates and a 5-star album rating system for reference.

 

 Call number: MuR 781.6403 E56

 10 volumes 

 Location: Reference Collection

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip