Citation StylesEndNoteTurnitin
ArticlesBooksDictionaries and EncyclopediasDissertations & Theses
This is the "Articles" page of the "Sociology LibGuide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Jun 7, 2016 URL: http://libguides.lib.hku.hk/soci Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Top Journals

 Top journals in Sociology:

Rank Journal Title Impact Factor
1 American Sociological Review 4.39 
2 Annual Review of Sociology 4.08
3 American Journal of Sociology 3.545
4 Annals of Tourism Research 2.685
5 Sociological Methodology 2.45

 

 

Top journals in Criminology:

Rank Journal Title Impact Factor
1 Journal of Criminal Justice 3.154
2 Criminology 3.098
3 Justice Quarterly 2.889
4 Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency 2.702
5 Trauma Violence & Abuse 2.676

 

 

Top journals in Anthropology:

Rank Journal Title Impact Factor
1 Journal of Peasant Studies 4.553 
2 Evolutionary Anthropology 3.886
3 Journal of Human Evolution 3.733 
4 Annual Review of Anthropology 2.717 
5 Current Anthropology 2.56 

 

(Source: Journal Citation Reports (Social Sciences ed. 2014) ) 

 To view more e-journals, please click here.

 

Subject Specific Databases

Criminal justice abstracts bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology

Ethnographic video online - comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior

Family & society studies worldwideA resource of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, and Human Development

GenderWatch - a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas

The PsycINFO database - comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present

Social sciences citation index - multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences

Social theory - extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization

Sociological abstracts - abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences

Women's studies international - bibliographic records drawn from a variety of essential women's studies databases

 

Click here to view more databases.

 

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier - Abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education and more.

JSTOR - Full-text online access to electronic archive of scholarly journal literature.

ProQuest - Periodicals and newspapers articles from over 5,000 publications in various subject disciplines.

Web of science - Is composed of Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. It provides access to over 8,700 leading journals.

中國期刊網 - 世界上最大的連續動態更新的中國期刊全文數據庫,以學術、技術、政策指導、高等科普及教育類期刊為主,內容覆蓋自然科學、農業、哲學、醫學、人文社會科學等各個領域。

 

E-News Databases

Factiva - Worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.

Hong Kong newspaper clippings online - News articles gathered from the South China Morning Post and the Hong Kong Standard. Subject focus is on politics and government in Hong Kong from early 1970s to 1994.

ProQuest newspapers , International newsstand - A collection of more than 700 of the world's top newspapers and wire feeds.

WiseNews - A database of full-text newspaper clippings with search capabilities. Hong Kong newspapers cover 1998 onwards. China, Taiwan and Macau's newspapers cover from 2000.

 

To view more e-news databases, please click here.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip